My Venture into ‘Tall’ Cakes

27 Sep

As I have mentioned before on this blog, over the last few months I have been taking the beginners series of Wilton classes at my local Michaels. This week will be my last week! I dont know what I will do with my Wednesday night from here on in! (well ok I really I know I will be busy as hell between now and, well probably Christmas).

Every month, Wendy, our local Wilton instructor offers one off classes, mainly in cupcake decoration (I have signed up to the October Halloween class already!!). Sadly I missed the cupcake class this month, but was happy to discover another new offering; ‘Tall’ Cakes.

Now to be honest, I have never made a tiered or tall cake before, and wasnt really sure if I would ever be called upon to actually make one. However, I have loved and learnt so much from the other classes, I thought it couldn’t hurt. You never know when it could come in handy.

And this was what came out of it:

I was surprised in myself, this came out alot better than I expected for a first attempt. It shows the classes are paying off.

I was so happy with the bow - but the picture sadly doesnt show it so well

As for the class itself, well it wasnt my favourite. Alot of the class was explaining the techniques of tiered cakes, and ALOT of useful tips on storing, and travelling with tall cakes, and only alittle time spent on actually creating a cake. Most of the cake in the picture above was decorated at home. Then I have always been someone who learns more from actions rather than theory. However, I learnt ALOT and all the tips and tricks were incredibly useful.

Would I be tempted into making tiered cakes more often now? Maybe….if the occasion called!

