LucyLuPop and the Chocolate Factory

22 Aug

…….Well less a factory, more a small apartment kitchen. Although today a factory would have been nice.

Afew weeks ago, I really wanted to start experimenting with different flavors of cupcakes. I have managed to get your standard chocolate and vanilla down, and earlier in the year I made Red Velvet for the first time. Then I stumbled across this post on Rolo Cupcakes by Jamie at My Baking Addiction. They sounded A-M-A-Z-I-N-G, and the comments from people that had previously tried the recipe were all so positive. Then I mentioned Rolo Cupcakes to the hubby. Well then I had no choice, they were in production.

Normally I am not the biggest fan of using box mixes unless I am short on time, but I followed this recipe to the T. I am so glad I did as the cakes were delicious!

The recipe can be found here: http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/rolo-cupcakes-recipe/

That evening we went to a Barbecue, and I brought these along for some taste testing. I took that fact that 24 arrived, and none came back – as a good sign. Sadly I never actually got to try a full completed one for myself.

This gave me an idea, Candy Themed Cupcakes!

So from this I experimented with Peanut Butter Recces Pieces Cupcakes


and my personal favorite, Oreo Cupcakes

Then came the ultimate experiment, or as I called it, the Death by Chocolate. Seriously I think if I ate more than one of these I would have a sugar crash!

The Oreo Rolo Cupcake!

How did this come about, I hear you ask? Well despite taking the Rolo cupcakes to the barbecue, neither me or the hubby actually got to try one. So I decided to make a new batch, along with the Oreo Cupcakes, as the basic recipe was the same.

“But could you make a cupcake with both in?” He asked.

Hhhhhmmmm, lets see, Oreos – Yumm, Rolo’s – Yumm, Chocolate Cake – Yumm! So what could go wrong.

And the verdict:

Personally they may have been alittle too sweet for me, but then despite my love of cupcakes, I am a savour girl at heart.

The hubby’s reaction; “These are amazing!”

Definitely worth the experimentation

Now back to my Wilton class homework, the final class is this week, so back to the grind stone for my final cake. Night Night all!

