Sugar Cookies…. Version 1.0

6 Feb

Hey all! So recently I have had abit of an internet blackout, so this blog has been slightly neglected. A lot is going on at the moment, and sadly, some stuff has had to take a back seat, including my baking time. However, as it all seems to be calming down, I can’t wait to get back on track and back to my list.

So for now, here’s the recipe from my first batch of sugar cookies, made afew weeks ago. A lot of blogs recently have been posting various different Sugar Cookie designs , especially in the lead up to Valentines, and although I have made cookies before, I have never made plain frosted Sugar Cookies.

Just before Christmas I found these cute little Cookie cutters in Crate and Barrel.

So here is Sugar Cookies, Version 1.0:

Sugar Cookies

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 ½ tsp. almond extract
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 ½ cups sifted all-purpose flour

  1. Cream the butter and powdered sugar together in the large bowl.
  2. Blend in the egg, almond extract, vanilla extract, salt and flour.
  3. With the dough still in the bowl, chill the dough until firm. I placed mine in the fridge for 15mins.
  4. Roll the dough out to ¼inch thickness on a well-floured surface.
  5. Cut with cookie cutters. Place on parchment lined cookie sheets, and bake at 375° for 8-10 min. The cookies should not brown.
  6. Leave cookies to cool before Frosting.

Royal Icing

  • 4 tbsp meringue powder,
  • ½ cup water,
  • 1 lb. powdered sugar,
  • ½ tsp light corn syrup (more can be added if needed, but no more than 1 tsp total),
  • A few drops almond extract (optional)

  1. Mix together the meringue powder and water in the bowl. If your using a mixer (like a KitchenAid) use the paddle attachment, beat until combined and foamy.
  2. Sift in the powdered sugar and beat on low to combine. Normally I skip the sifting step as it’s not always necessarily, but in the recipe you can NOT skip the sifting!
  3. Add in the corn syrup and extract. (The corn syrup helps keep the icing shiny.) Beat for about 5 minutes, on a medium speed, just until the icing is glossy and stiff peaks form. You should be able to create peaks in the frosting and them not fall.

At this point your frosting is ready for creating the outline of your cookies. Separating the icing into the amounts of each colour you need, the next job is tracing the outline of the shapes you need onto the cookies. I found it a lot easier to use a edible ink pen first to draw on the cookies, and then follow the lines with the frosting in a piping bag.

Filling in the cookies is the easy part, you just need to water down the frosting. Add the water a teaspoon at a time (I think I added about 3 in total), and then fill in the gaps between the set hardened frosting. This process is called ‘FLOODING’ (Thanks to Karen from Cooking with Karen for teaching me that!)

And Volia! The final product.

As I said, I am definitely interested in making these again as they were fun to make, and these were far from perfect. I would be interested to see if anyone else is making these for the first time !

One Response to “Sugar Cookies…. Version 1.0”

  1. LittleMissPip 02/07/2011 at 2:43 PM #

    So glad to have you back online. We should really try and catch up soon. Miss you loads!

    On the plus side I got a set of cup measurements for my birthday so now I can try out some of these myself 🙂

Comments are closed.

