Fundamentals …at My Baking Addiction.

23 Jan

Yesterday was the first time in a loooong time that I had been to a kids party. It was a first birthday party too, so I felt priveldged to be at someones special day. I also found the tradition of a child having their own little cake (other than their main cake) – so they dont have to be prim and proper, and they can just eat it! I love that! Kids should enjoy cake!

While at that party, some friends and I got talking about cake toppings, fondant especially while eating birthday cake. One person said “I’m just a Butter cream girl, I love that”. I have to agree, since I have been baking, I have almost always used Butter Cream Frosting, trying out different receipes, trying to find the perfect one.

So it seemed almost fate to come home to find this blog post from Jamie over at My Baking Addiction sitting waiting in my Google Reader. I only recently found Jamie’s blog, but have been an avid follower since her first blog post in this Fundamentals Series. I have yet to try the Caramel Sauce, but it looks sooo good, I’ll find a reason to make it soon!

So in Honour of Jamies Post, I thought I would share with you my favourite and simple ButterCream Frosting recipe:

Vanilla ButterCream Frosting

Makes about 2 1/2 cups frosting.

  • 16 oz Powdered Sugar,

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened,

  • 3 tbs milk,

  • 2 tps vanilla.

Beat sugar, butter, milk and vanilla with electric mixer at low speed until well blended and smooth.

If frosting becomes too thick, beat in additional milk by teaspoonfuls until the frosting is of spreading consistency.

So why not go visit Jamie’s website ‘My Baking Addiction’ www.mybakingaddiction.com – if your a fan of baking, then you will love it!

4 Responses to “Fundamentals …at My Baking Addiction.”

  1. LittleMissPip 01/24/2011 at 1:00 AM #

    Does powered sugar mean something else in the UK?

    I am sooo up for trying this one, this is my favourite type of icing too 🙂

  2. lucylupop 01/24/2011 at 8:44 PM #

    I think in the UK it is often known as just icing or Confectioners Sugar.

    Its the powder-like sugar we used when we made cupcakes when you were here.

  3. LittleMissPip 01/25/2011 at 2:08 AM #

    Icing sugar? Awesome. I have a box of that 🙂

  4. lucylupop 01/27/2011 at 7:00 PM #

    Let me know how it turns out 😀

Comments are closed.

