Cupcake Bites, and the death of a KitchenAid

12 Jan

A few weeks ago, my hubby told me a new person would be joining his team, and asked if I would making something for him to take into work to welcome them.  I have been wanting to try out some new ideas from all the books and blogs I have found recently, so what a perfect opportunity!  After seeing this post from iheartcuppycakes, I decide to try and make cake bites as our gift. (Thanks for the inspiration Clara!)

In all the recipes I found for cake bites, it always calls for a box mix.  Not that there is anything wrong with them, but I feel like that’s cheating alittle.  So I decided to make the cake recipe from scratch, and Chocolate was the only way to go.  Ever since I have been making cupcakes, I have always used the same recipe, and it has always gone down well.  It’s not too chocolaty (if it is ever possible to be), and makes moist cupcakes.

Chocolate Cupcakes

  • 1 cup All purpose Flour,

  • ¼ cup Unsweetened Dutch Cocoa Powder,

  • ¼ tsp Baking Soda,

  • ¼ tsp Salt,

  • ½ stick unsalted Butter,

  • 1 cup Granulated Sugar,

  • 2 large Eggs,

  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract,

  • 1 teaspoon of instant coffee dissolved in 2 tsp of water,

  • 2/3 cup of Buttermilk.

The reason I love this recipe is its simplicity.

 

 

 

 

  1. Mix together the dry ingredients (flour, Cocoa, Baking Soda & Salt) in a medium bowl, and set aside for step 5.

  2. In a large bowl, beat together the butter (at room temperature), and sugar for about a minute, or until the mixture is smooth.

  3. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating each one in individually.

  4. Mix in the dissolved coffee and vanilla into the batter until the mixture is creamy.

  5. Finally, add the flour and butter milk in, in alternating parts, making sure the mixture is smooth after each addition.

Its ready to add to your holders, and then cook for 350F for about 20-25mins.

Sadly at this point, something tragic happened in my kitchen.  Halfway through mixing the chocolate cake, my beloved KitchenAid spluttered and gave up.  This was only the second time of using it (it was an amazing gift from the hubby) – so luckily it was still within warranty and also within the allotted exchange/return window.  Thank God for Amazon and it’s amazing services, within a week my new one has arrived and found its home in my kitchen.

Well, on with the cake.  When it comes to frosting, I like to make my own; however  when it comes to cake balls/pops/bites I can’t resist Pillsbury Frosting Ready To Spread Chocolate Fudge. It works so well with chocolate cake mix.  So to make the bites, first, crumble the cake, add the approx ¾ of a can of frosting, and roll into small chocolate balls.

The dough should be soft, but not too moist that the balls stick to baking parchment.  I used a large baking tray and parchment paper to store the bites in the fridge over night.  They normally only need about an hour in the fridge to set, I was just short on time and had to spilt these over two nights.  You can also just pop them in the freezer for 15mins, if you need them to set quickily.

Now for the bites themselves, to make the bases, I brought a Candy mould from an Arts & Crafts store, and used melted candy coating.  Using a Ziploc bag, I melted the candy coating in the microwave, 30 seconds at a time on 50% power. Then, simply snipping a small hole in the corner, a piping bag is created! So filling half of the moulds up with the candy coating, I then placed the premade bites into the moulds, to fill them.  After 15mins in the fridge, the Candy had solidified and the bites were firmly held in.

For the ‘frosting’, I found some amazing speckled candy coating, which was perfect for the job.Melting the Candy chips in a bowl, the trick here is to simply dip the top half of the bites into the bowl, to coat the top of the bite, and then leave them to set.  As this point, they really don’t need to be perfect; actually I found the odd shapes created made them seem more like really little cupcakes.

If you want to add a cherry on the top, or sprinkles (which I did), before the candy sets, simply add a red M&M (or other small circular shaped Candy) onto the top, and sprinkle over the top.  You need to do this while the candy is still setting, so everything sets.

So for the cakes, well here is what mine looked like…………..

 

And the verdict, well I had a touch crowd. The first week of January, and no-one is eating cake! However, despite this, off the 40 I made, they were all eaten.  And Loved! Well what can I say, they are bite sized, so who could resist!

 

These are my first claim to fame, as these little creations found there way onto The Cupcake Blog, featured on January 7th. So those of you that have found me through this, I hope you continue to follow my creative adventures.

2 Responses to “Cupcake Bites, and the death of a KitchenAid”

  1. Jen 01/13/2011 at 11:37 AM #

    These look sooo good! xoxo

  2. LittleMissPip 01/13/2011 at 2:31 PM #

    These are soooo pretty! I love them 🙂

Comments are closed.

