Calling all OC Animal Lovers! – Home for the Holidays – December 3rd

2 Dec

Tomorrow is the 5th Annual ‘Home for the Holidays’ Event at the Irvine Animal Care Center.

This event is something very dear to me, as last year was this was the first event I volunteered at for the Shelter, and it was just after we adopted our kitten from them. I know first hand the number of homeless Animals the Shelter helps each year, and the costs that are involved in being able to do this. This annual event is something alittle bit different. The shelter opens it doors over this holiday season to many local Orange County Rescue Organisations, and vendors to help raise awareness of homeless animals in the county.

Full details of the all the vendors can be found here, however some personal favourites I cant wait to see there are:

Once again this year, they will also be holding a Bake Sale – with all proceeds of the sale going towards the extended care of all the animals in the shelters care.

In previous years, I have always made Puppy and Kitten Cake Pops and Cookies, partly because I loved making them, and partly as they are always a cute addition for all animal lovers.

So this year I decided to go with something alittle more festive, and inspired by Bakerella, I decide to make Christmas Themed Cake Pops.

All made from Red Velvet Cake and Cream Cheese Frosting (Red Velvet always reminds me of the Holidays, I’m not sure why), these are Santa Hats, Snowmen, Christmas Trees and Mini Stockings. This is the first time I’ve actually made non-rounded Cakepops – its not as easy as it first looks!

So these are now all boxed up and ready to go to ‘Home for the Holiday’s’

So if you have some time on your Saturday afternoon, and you are in the Orange County Area, please stop by the Irvine Animal Care Center (map here)and show your support. Entry is only $1 and parking is free!

One Response to “Calling all OC Animal Lovers! – Home for the Holidays – December 3rd”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vote for me!!! Christmas Cake Pops « LucyLuPop's Kitchen - 12/14/2011

    [...] Center ‘Home for the Holidays’ Adoption Event.  As an update for those who read my previous post – the event itself raised over $10,000, the Bake Sale made up just under $2,500 of that [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

