Happy Thanksgiving!

24 Nov

An English girl hosting a Thanksgiving dinner? Why Not! Thats how I will be spending my day today!

Its that time of year when we should all remember the things we should be thankful for. This year, I have afew special mentions, mainly people, that I am thankful to have in my life:

  • My amazing hubby! AKA the taste tester of all my crazy kitchen adventures! He also ridiculouly tolerant of my kicking him out of the kitchen and baking into the small hours.

  • My amazing Friends and Family. Moving around so much has meant some of them are round the corner, and some are thousands of miles away – but whenever I see them, it feels like the last time I saw them was minutes earlier. My Aunty also thinks my cupcakes look better than some of the ones on ‘The Great British Bake-Off’ !

  • My Twitter Friends - A special Thanks to @KCbakes and @startupprincess for the amazing Start Up chats every Wednesday afternoon! Its provided alot of great and insightful information

  • My two little monsters – They drive me crazy but I would have them any other way!

Its such a hard life, isnt it?

So back to Thanksgiving. Or in our case this year, Friends-giving! With our families being so far away, and Thanksgiving not being celebrated outside of the US this week, we are having a ‘Friends-giving’ dinner!

(NB:This post was written last night, as today will be spent cooking, alot of eating and maybe some drinking with Friends.

Dinner will be the full all-American deal, with Turkey and all the trimmings.

Hopefully this years Turkey will look just as good as this!

Then we get onto my favourite thing – Desserts! I may have gone alittle over board! But Thanksgiving is only once a year right?!

On Tuesday I completed my final Wilton Class, so I already had one desert down! So 1 Gluten Free Chocolate Cake – done!

Next was something I have never actually made before, but I have always wanted to try, Apple Pie. Later in the week I will post up the recipe for this particular pie, but I was happy with the outcome – if I do say so myself!

Finally, It wouldn’t be desert without the classic Cupcake! To give them abit of a Autumn/Fall theme to them, I turned to my copy of Hello Cupcake! for inspiration, and it did not let me down! Volia – Chocolate flavoured -Pumpkin themed Cupcakes!

I just hope everyone has room for these after dinner! I will let you know how they go, as so far they are just tempting me from the other side of my kitchen!

So to all my readers, I hope you have had a great day, and you have plenty to be Thankful for this Holiday season! Thank you for sticking with me!

One Response to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. Kirstie @ Musings of a Happy Life 11/26/2011 at 3:34 PM #

    Those cupcakes look incredible!!!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

